Communities That Care

CTC logo


Eagle River Youth Coalition (ERYC), in partnership with Eagle County Public Health (ECPH), has received a grant by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) for implementation of Communities That Care (CTC).

What Is Communities That Care?

Communities That Care is a nation-wide project that originated at the University of Washington. Many communities across the United States have adopted the process in order to turn prevention science into action for young people. The process helps communities prevent youth problems before they start. The national website can be found here:

Communities That Care follows five distinct phases. The overall intent is to reduce community risk factors (challenges) and enhance community protective factors (strengths). Communities who have implemented this process have seen dramatic reductions in levels of youth substance abuse, violence, and delinquent behaviors.

CTC 5 steps
Our Vision:
‘Eagle County: Where Youth Thrive!’

Communities That Care relies on the collaboration of a number of stakeholders who are organized into 3 distinct groups:
Key Leaders who occupy influential roles in community policy-making, businesses, and youth serving organizations. Eagle County currently has 17 Key Leaders.
Community Board Members who represent all constituents from Eagle County and whose membership fluctuates. Eagle County currently has 38 Community Board Members.
Youth Advisors who come from each of the schools present in Eagle County and whose voice is integral to all decision-making. Eagle County currently has 26 youth advisors.

These individuals work together to assess current health issues in Eagle County, develop and implement plans to address needs, and evaluation the success of the plans. All of this is done using data collected from a number of sources.

CTC 19

Current Eagle County CTC Process:
Eagle County is currently working through the components of Phase 5. Earlier, the following Protective Factors were identified:
-Prosocial opportunities at home
-Prosocial opportunities at school
-Prosocial opportunities in the community

And the following Risk Factors were identified:
Favorable Youth Attitudes Toward Substance Use
Community Laws and Norms Favorable to Substance Use
Availability of Substances

This community assessment led to the selection of 3 specific environmental strategies to be implemented in Eagle County:
Build Public Support for Conventional Enforcement of Existing Laws
Leverage Statewide Mass Media Campaigns to Change Community and Social Norms
Recruit and Reward Youth Participation in Community Coalitions

CTC 19 2

The Community Board works hard to identify common risk and protective factors in Eagle County

The Communities That Care process has officially entered Phase 5 and 2019 will be dedicated to developing an action plan and steps for implementation of the environmental strategies.

Want to be involved or learn more? Please contact Eagle County CTC Coordinator, Sandy Schroeder,


of Eagle County high school students didn't use marijuana in the past 30 days.

Eagle River Youth Coalition - Making Youth a Community Priority
Physical Address: 34520 US Highway 6, C10 | Edwards, CO 81632
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 4613 | Edwards, CO 81632
Phone: 970.949.9250 |
Información en Español
Website by Second October Media | Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram